Friendly Fitness Friday!

29 Mar

Happy Friday everyone!

I’m gearing up for a killer morning workout right now! I’ll be heading out shortly to go join a couple girls with our trainer, Fred. He’ll be kicking our buttts….errr upper body I mean….wait where was I? I apologize as I just got distracted by the smoke detector going off (at 7:30am – neighbors please don’t kill me) from the egg whites I was cooking…OOPS

Anyway! This week has been a great gym week for me. Today will be the 4th day consecutively getting my butt in! WOOT WOOT! New motivation from those freaking measurements and the 3 year anniversary mark. I’ve decided to start sharing my workouts. 1) To keep me accountable to get in the gym 2) to provide a little motivation to any readers and 3) to provide workout ideas for those that might need them.

I had a couple friends ask about speed training or weight training this week and so it inspired me to give a little more of what I do, and how I’m working on getting back to lean profile I like on myself.

Monday –  off day as I teach 6 dance classes

Tuesday – Legs (mine are STILL sore!) – I warmed up with an easy mile warm-up, and then we got into it. We did barbell squats (5 rounds – 15 reps each), a superset of squats on the machine, lunges across the gym and single leg hamstring curls (5 rounds), and then ended the hour out with a superset of 2 minutes of kicking the punching bag (1 minute each leg) and plyos (2 rounds). I rounded out with another easy mile after and oh boy were my legs jello.

Wednesday – my 3 year anniversary of the start of my journey to fitness. I rounded out a day of teaching with a sweaty 60 minutes on the mill. The first 30 minutes were for speed training.

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 7.40.00 AM

It didn’t end up with a very fast overall pace since my first mile was slow, but the second two miles were under 9 minutes! Trying to improve my half marathon time to FINALLY get under 2 hours and I know speed work on shorter runs is the way to go! At least that is what I keep hearing and reading EVERYWHERE!

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 7.40.11 AM

The second 30 minutes on the mill were all a walk. I kept it at 4.0 but played with the incline. Unfortunately, because it was just with my Nike+ sensor it didn’t register the hill climb (dang it), but it was a really good session. I worked it all the way up to a 12-15 incline during the final 10 minutes. Not to mention my legs already killed from the previous day!

Thursday – It was another cardio day. I told myself I was going to go run on my break between classes…best intentions I swear. But I got home, was starving and after I ate I was tired (knew that would happen..boo). So I listened to my body knowing I’d get off from evening classes at 6:30 and could head to the gym then. I NEARLY talked myself out of it…it had been a long afternoon including one of my little one’s peeing themselves in class….never fun…but I kept repeating “You never regret a workout” AND this one “You’re only one workout away from a good mood!”

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 7.47.42 AM
And thank goodness it worked. I pulled in another speed workout on tired legs. Logged 2.5 miles at an average 8:42 pace

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 7.49.37 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 7.49.51 AM

Rounded out the 30 minutes with some incline walking and then hopped on the elliptical for 10 minutes to smooth the legs out. I also did a short abs series but nothing crazy.

Friday – All I know is it is upper body mania today. I’ve been told flipping tires, sledge hammers and slamming ropes are involved…I may cry (but is it weird I’m VERY excited for it?!) I’ll write this weekend on exactly what it was.

AND before I sign off for this entry I wanted to send some friendly Friday Fitness love to some other bloggers out there! If you’re looking for inspiration/motivation check these awesome bloggers out and make sure you tell them I sent ya! 🙂

They’ve got some awesome stuff happening in their lives and some great giveaways you should check out!!

My Skinny Jean Dreams

Mindy’s Fitness Journey

Melissa Running It

Peace, Love and Low Carb

How did YOUR workout week go? How are you holding yourself accountable to your goals?

Leave a Reply

I'VE MOVED

Go to www.RunningHutch.com

It's All About the Journey

Explore. Dream. Discover.

kylethegirl

FLUFF TO BUFF

Train with Purpose. Race with Heart

Adventures in running, triathlon, and the never-ending pursuit of endorphins

