3 Year Anniversary – My Journey

27 Mar

Today is a day of great importance. I didn’t even realize it until I was sitting down to lunch. It is the official 3 year anniversary of when my weight loss journey began. It is not the anniversary of the day I actually began my healthy eating/working out….it is the day I hit rock bottom. The day I made the choice that my life could not continue as it had.

This is me 3 years ago celebrating at my cousin’s wedding reception.

3 years 3-27-10 caitys wedding 3-27-10 liz and me 3-27-2010

This is me 3 years later….

DSC00005 IMG_3333 IMG_3474 IMG_3473

Hard to believe what 3 years can do for you…Has it really been 3 years? Sometimes I get so wrapped up in the day to day struggles I forget how far I’ve come. Especially in the last couple of months. I feel like I’ve been playing the same game the first three months of 2013. Maybe it is the winter time blues or maybe I’m just too hard on myself, but I’d forgotten how far I had come. Continued to let myself beat up on me. Well no wonder I’ve floundered. You can’t succeed on your journey unless you BELIEVE in it. I need to BELIEVE in ME again.

Yesterday, was measurement day with the new trainer. A couple weeks back I found a new trainer, Fred Caron, courtesy of one of my best friends. She’s used him for a year and has done some truly amazing things. I tried out a free session a week and a half ago and decided I needed to jump on board. They way he trains works with my mentality. He pushes me the way I need to be pushed. We set our measurement day and I knew I wasn’t going to be happy with the results. Because while I’m definitely NOWHERE NEAR where I was 3 years ago, I’m not at my lightest or fittest these days. And it is not about being the tiniest I’ve ever been. It is about being happy with where I am, and right now I’m not happy with where I am.

The measurements definitely fueled a fire underneath me at the gym, and I’m hoping it is what helps me turn myself back to the path I want to be on. While I’m not fitting to reach a specific number (weightwise) on the scale I know I can be better. I may not get back to my very lightest (because at that point I wasn’t living a very balanced life – it even bordered on unhealthy as my period stopped for 4 months….sorry for the TMI) but there is definitely work to be done. And the best part is with my new trainer and my new goal path, I BELIEVE I can do it again.

So while yesterday I hunkered down on the thoughts of the backslip I’ve had over the last few months, today I’m looking on the positive side. Of how far I’ve come in 3 years. I’m praising myself for not letting myself slip ALL the way back to an unhealthy oblivion. For RECOGNIZING I need to shape up and get BACK on track.

It is all about the JOURNEY. We do not simply reach a point where we get to say YAY I’M DONE! We keep going, keep striving. Knowing that sometimes we will be a little heavier than we want. But that it is ok. We pick ourselves up, dust off and try again. We set ourselves on fire…

set yourself on fire

How do YOU get yourself motivated? Keep yourself on track?

8 Responses to “3 Year Anniversary – My Journey”

  1. EBH March 27, 2013 at 3:16 PM #

    Very proud of you Amy….pure motivation!

    • Amy March 27, 2013 at 8:38 PM #

      Thank you so much! I love having a chance to motivate people..especially remotivating myself! And when I hear people tell me their journeys it only reinspires me to keep pushing through! πŸ™‚

  2. Kathleen W March 27, 2013 at 3:41 PM #

    Congrats to you, Gorgeous! I am thrilled for you that you are so healthy now. I’ve never been a fan of running, but between you and Darcie it makes me want to start ;(

    • Amy March 27, 2013 at 8:40 PM #

      Thanks Kathleen! In all honesty this has been something I’ve struggled with as far back as I can remember. Even on cheer team at Swainston! But I keep pushing forward!

      AND running is addicting. I didn’t start until July of 2011! At that point I could barely run a mile without stopping! Now I’ve got 2 marathons and 7 half marathons under my belt, with a WHOLE lot more to come!

      You pick a race (5Ks are great to start!) And I’ll come run with you! We could get Darcie to come too! πŸ™‚

  3. triing2survive March 27, 2013 at 6:17 PM #

    Honestly, I keep myself motivated by constantly having the fear of being fat again. I used to be at a VERY unhealthy weight and have lost it. It’s not by choice that I have this fear, it is just how my mind works. I do also find it very motivating to have the website DailyMile where I can log my workouts & see others workouts. Great job on your weight loss!

    • Amy March 27, 2013 at 8:45 PM #

      Thank you for support and your advice! Not gonna lie I currently have the vision of the fat me that stays with me all the time. On bad days I’ll look in the mirror and I swear I see her instead of what is right in front of me. It is an every day challenge and I hope one day I can lose that vision, but for now I fight to see the REAL me.

      Best of luck on keeping your motivation and journey going! If you ever need a boost just let me know! πŸ™‚

  4. puddingthedamageon March 27, 2013 at 7:59 PM #

    i gained a crazy amount of weight when i was pregnant with my last son. a lot for one pregnancy. like over 100lbs. that’s enough for nine months. it would be great if i could blame it on a baby, but i couldn’t. i lost it and then some in the year that followed, but it took a long time to get comfortable with “the journey” you described. for me, it’s not having a constant motivation to run from “fat” me, and i did do that for awhile. i was a slave to my scale and to thinking that i was somehow going to lose or fail by what i saw there. it had to be something else, because i was not enjoying my life that way. instead, i had to be motivated by finding a healthy life and living it. when i did that, and enjoyed running and lifting weights and creating healthy food — the rest just sort of happened. i have no idea how much i weigh. none. the jeans i bought when i lost 122 lbs still fit though… so that’s all that matters.

    you have an enormous amount to be proud of. you have done some big amazing work. you have transformed yourself, and it’s no small feat the work you did. i can completely respect it, because i have labored in the same way to lose it. keep running! enjoy your journey!! πŸ™‚

    • Amy March 27, 2013 at 8:52 PM #

      I agree completely. These days it is the fear of that fat me that continues to drive me and I know that is why I’ve found struggles lately.

      When I started my initial journey it was never setting out at a specific number. It was about being healthy. About being positive. Not about deprivation. Just ADDING smart choices into my life. That is where I’m refocusing myself now and already I feel better emotionally.

      I know that as time goes by the journey will become less about the fat me and more about just living my life. Until then I just have to keep on keepin on!

      Thanks so much for the encouragement and kind words! Sometimes its hard to see what is in front of you and only the words from someone who doesn’t know you can snap you back to reality πŸ™‚

      Congrats on your accomplishment of losing 122!! That is BEYOND amazing! So inspiring!

Leave a Reply

I'VE MOVED

Go to www.RunningHutch.com

It's All About the Journey

Explore. Dream. Discover.

kylethegirl

FLUFF TO BUFF

Train with Purpose. Race with Heart

Adventures in running, triathlon, and the never-ending pursuit of endorphins

