A Reminder…to be the best version of ME

26 Feb
No Race?! What do you mean no RACE?!

This weekend went off without a race for me (tragedy right?!). Which is not a big deal because 1) my body is not made to race every single weekend, 2) I don’t have enough money to enter EVERY race I’d like to if I did I’d be on a plane 90% of the year to some far far away race, and 3) I actually do have a life outside running hard to believe I know. I’m only a week outside of the Austin Full marathon I just ran and giving myself ample time and opportunity to recooperate. After NWM I felt great! No soreness, good energy, etc. I was amazed given it was my first full. So being the superwoman that I totally am totally not I jumped straight back into work, working out, social life, etc. Well I learned the hard way two weeks later that my body hated me and wanted more rest. It promptly went down for about a week and a half. Putting me out of the ability to teach and losing income. NOT This time friends! I’m learning from past mistakes!

So while loading myself with vitamin c, Airborne, Alkaseltzer cold and LOTS of rest, I took the week off from running. BUT that didn’t mean I couldn’t go and be a good friend and cheer on my friend Melissa while she finished her race at the San Diego Women’s Half Marathon!

IMG_3208

IMG_3209

Post race and post PR! WOOT WOOT!

My friend ROCKS it! THREE half marathons so far this year and she has PR’d in EVERY. SINGLE. ONE. I’m such a proud friend and so glad I could be there to be her support system as she rocks out these races! Everyone deserves to have someone in their corner and I will be there in hers EVERY chance I get 🙂

IMG_3211

Melissa making me jealous of her bling…dang it I should have ran!

Except when she shows me her AWESOME bling that I DIDN’T get…Thanks Melissa. Thanks. Make me so jealous I wish I would’ve just run the frickin’ race! Or grabbed a medal off the table….they had TONS!

IMG_3210

The BLING…so bummed I wasn’t running to get this bling…next year!

JUST kidding! I’m not THAT hard up for bling! Ok maybe I am….runner isssues dudes…runner issues.

So instead of racing today I was the support system, and then GLADLY went out with Melissa for a post race celebratory meal (including bloody mary’s which I’m deeming our official post race drink…done and done…delicious!)

Then I went home and was a lazy butt. I’ve been struggling the last few weeks. Before Austin I started feeling sick so I took every down moment to rest and recuperate. This meant that rather than workout or run I was napping. I know I shouldn’t feel bad. I’m saving myself the problem of NOT being able to do ANYTHING by getting hit with this gnarly flu going around. But I feel blah and just overall down on myself. Lately I keep forgetting what this journey was about when I started it. It wasn’t about getting skinny or to a certain weight. It was about feeling healthy and confident and OWNING my body.

Lately, every time I look in a mirror and think I could do better I start tagging off the reasons I’m unhappy, which mostly concern the dinner I went to with a friend, or the drinks we had, the extra workout I didn’t get in, etcetera etcetera etcetera.

Well on Sunday night (after a day full of thinking poorly about myself) I decided that it stops now. BACK to the POSITIVE mindset where I look at what I’ve accomplished, think about the things I’m ADDING to my life (good food, good workouts) and stop focusing on the negative things. And I knew exactly where to start….

IMG_3219

IMG_3216I made a wall of victories and accomplishments in my bedroom. Yup. I took ALL of my race bibs, medals, running signs, and even the mylar from NWM (my first full…and yes I kept it all this time tucked away in my room) and put them up on my wall. I even included a few of the signs my dance kids have given me this year in class. They’re totally non-running related but they motivate me just the same. To be a good teacher, take pride in my work and my passions. This wall will only continue to grow as I’ve got another 11 races in 2013 alone (holy cow…I’m insane….), but I needed it to remind me of what I’ve accomplished. I still have MANY goals ahead of me, but what I’ve done so far isn’t too shabby either. I’m not perfect. Never will be. All I can do is aim to be the best version of ME.

POSITIVITY PEOPLE! Its what works!

How do YOU stay positive? Motivate yourself?

2 Responses to “A Reminder…to be the best version of ME”

  1. PDX Running Chick February 26, 2013 at 8:16 AM #

    I love your motivation wall. I have something similar. All my medals from the marathons and half marathons I’ve run, in addition to a poster my boyfriend gave me that says “She Decided to Live the Life She Had Imagined” I also have two poster boards on my wall that I pin my favorite running motivation on. It makes me feel good to wake up and see it all. I love to run, I know I do and I know what I’m capable of — positivity works!

    • Amy March 27, 2013 at 9:01 PM #

      The motivation wall was a MUST! And I have a bunch I already need to add to it from the last couple races!

      By the way…I absolutely LOVE the saying your boyfriend used! That is EXACTLY how I feel about my life and my running. If only there were a guy in my life that got it. I have my running though! And my dancing! For now I’m perfectly content with that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'VE MOVED

Go to www.RunningHutch.com

It's All About the Journey

Explore. Dream. Discover.

kylethegirl

FLUFF TO BUFF

Train with Purpose. Race with Heart

Adventures in running, triathlon, and the never-ending pursuit of endorphins

